Navigation:  PRS Frequently Asked Questions >

I've just upgraded to a new PC and now I get a 'license count exceeded' message, why?

Previous pageReturn to chapter overviewNext page

PRS Subscription Licensing works like this: each different PC that logs on during the day consumes a license for that day. If you logged on to your old PC earlier in the day it will have consumed a license which is not available for use by the new machine.

 

There are a number of ways to get round this:

 

Wait till tomorrow — the license pool is reset at the start of each day.
Go back to your old PC just for today, start using your new PC tomorrow.
Take your old PC off the network (or rename it) then rename your new PC with the same name as the old one.

 

See also the PRS Licensing web page http://prshq.com/licensing.html.